Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The speaker suggests that business or science students shouldn't be required to take courses in the Humanities, in believing that those courses are useless for their careers. I consider the speaker is being too extreme in this statement and I believe those courses should be made compulsory to all students.

First of all, to make students be well-rounded people, the undergraduate education should let them explore their interests by taking all variety of courses. Being in their young age, university students should try possibilities as many as possible. Although for some students showing strong interests in some fields, we shall not limit them to those areas.

Moreover, for several courses in the Humanities, such as the courses about religion traditions or cultural preservation, they usually emphasize in relationship between humans and even between people and the environment, which is very essential to us no matter what field we work in the future. Without the sense of these kinds of knowledge, we may grow as avaricious and indifferent people being harmful to our societies.

Admittedly, the credit expenses may seem expensive for people who are not interested in those topics, I believe the government is responsible for funding students to take those courses. Only by learning these will students become more aware of our society and environment.

To sum up, I believe the undergraduate students should be required to take courses in the Humanities given that the courses can make students more well-rounded and empathetic.