The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The statement suggests that to give young people a sense of leadership in government or other fields, we should emphasize the importance of cooperation rather than the one of competition. However, the writer's opinion is too extreme and the writer fails to consider the benefits of competition. So I strongly believe that both cooperation and competition are necessary for providing leadership to potential rulers.

Being cooperative with different fields of people is very essential nowadays since the world is full of uncertainties and possibilities so that to have only a certain field of knowledge is insufficient to deal with everyday tasks people would encounter. Only by cooperating with colleagues or alliances will a company or a nation thrive.

Competition, on the other hand, might be harmful to corporations or governments. Take the Cold War as an example, both the U.S. and the USSR are the two most powerful countries in the world at that time. Nevertheless, instead of cooperating, they build tons of missiles, nuclear weapons to threaten each other. If the USSR has not chosen to do the meaningless competition, it might have existed without being bankrupted. I believe that sometimes unnecessary competition between corporations or nations may be bad for human or society development.

I concede, sometimes a little competition is necessary for making progress. Without any sense of competition, a company or a country may grow complacent and cannot detect possible risks at the most peaceful time.

To sum up, I think cooperation and competition are both essential for leaders to have a sense of them. By incorporating both cooperation and competition, a leader will know how to adapt to the changing environment by consulting with different fields of experts and will not be too complacent when operating his/her company or nation.