The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the store owner finds the number of shoppers has been decreasing and concludes that is due to the recent increase of skateboarders. The owner even suggests the city to ban skateboarding in his store. However, the speculation is entirely based on logically unconvincing assumptions. Without providing further evidence, the writer's statement is unpersuasive as well as unwarranted.

First of all, the decrease of shopper does not necessarily have correlation with the increase of skateboarders. These two phenomena may just happen in coincidence. If the owner believes the business decrease should have something to do with skateboarding, he/she should conduct a survey, namely, questionnaire, to inquire shoppers about the reason why they are unwilling to visit the plaza. The survey can also include shoppers' opinions toward skateboarding. By doing so, we can determine whether a relationship between the shopper decline and the skateboarding popularity exists, as the writer insists.

Another important question to be addressed is the true reason of decreasing number of shoppers. It can be national economic recession which results all citizens to be too frugal to go shopping. We can determine the possible reason by doing thorough investigations about all similar plazas among the city. Probably the owner will find that most plazas have experiencing downturns and can conclude it's due to the bad economy.

Finally, the owner notices the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza has been increasing as well, which I think is a good reason why shoppers were unwilling to visit. Nevertheless, with no further investigation, the writer directly infer the litter and vandalism was made by skateboarders but not other people such as beggars or mendicants. To avoid making such a completely arbitrary conclusion, similarly, he/she should find the cause of littering and vandalism, by putting monitoring cameras, perhaps.

To sum up, the argument lacks credibility to conclude that the decrease of shoppers was resulted from the increase of the popularity of skateboarding in the plaza. I believe that more proof regarding the issues discussed above is required to make the store owner's conclusion acceptable.