Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above presents a new policy of company X which wants to switch from 5-day workweek to a 4-day workweek by increasing working hours per day for its employees. The first stated reason that shutting down offices on Fridays will increase profit. However, this is contingent upon various circumstances. First, it is important whether the office building is in company's property, because, for example, if company rents it and pays fixed sum of money per month, closing offices for one more day will not affect payment at all. But if the company owns this building, by shutting down it may save on electricity spendings. Another possible situation, is that the company can act as a landlord for other businesses and earn money from renting offices during the free days. Such assumptions should be clarified for the policy to be reasonable.

The second claim is that workers will appreciate the reduction in the commuting time. This might be true, but also need to be clarified. For strengthening the claim, one need to assume that commuting is a really time-consuming part of the work routine for most of the employees. For instance, if the office building is situated on the outskirt of the city and employees live far from it, thus , it takes a lot of time for them to get to work. In the reverse situation, when the building is in the center, the heavy traffic might serve as an obstacle to get to the office quickly. In such case there is a possibility of employees' approvement of what company offers. However, if we assume that none of such problems exist workers will not be inclined towards new policy. Moreover, they might be disgruntled by the fact that they need to work 10 hours per day which could be quite tedious for many people. Another thing to mention is that employees might have some other leisure activities during the week such as sports or education clubs which they participate after 8 hours of work, and shifting from the old system will certainly hinder their free-time planning and could make them feel dissatisfied.

In short, there are a lot of circumstances that might impede or increase company's efficiency while implementing new policy of switching to a 4-day workweek. Aforementioned assumptions should be taken into consideration in order to evaluate the argument and find out whether the company economizes and satisfies its workers at the same time under such policy, or not.