Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

We live in the era when the forth power – media – is burgeoning like never before. It underpins its positions in social life of everyone. Our emails, news feed and, what’s more important, our minds are inundated by tons of information. A recently formed perception of media as of powerful source not only of governmental, but of social opinion influenced our attitude towards it – media gained authority to form our personal attitude towards many questions. This essay is going to speculate on how scandals in press can affect our society.

Turmoil in media can have an amazing effect on the society: for years people can be told that there are things to be changed, but only after a real disaster occurs, which then will be reported in all popular media portals, they start trying to do something. There are several reasons for it and one of them is that, scandals by definition are tumultuous stories spread among big audience of different social groups that reflect problems which given society encounters. This means that a lot of people become aware of social issues, discuss them and collaborate together in order to solve problems. One might argue that important issues are already discussed and declared by activists or reformers. However, scandals are more effective than activists’ performance because people and, thus, media are more interested in juicy stories rather than in someone’s opinion. Press prefer to post stories that can be sold, and speeches of reformers might be obscured.

Why people are influenced by scandals more than by activists’ performances is a big question. One possible reason is that it is difficult for society to care about issues that doesn’t yet exist, so when someone warns them of potential threats, they don’t understand the importance or simply don’t believe this may happen. It’s hard for them to imagine that kids might be shooted at school by an insane student with a gun, or that the world champion might be stabbed to death in the center of a major city at midday by automobile thieves.

The story of Denis Ten shows how a tragedy might force people to start improve society they live in. Denis is the famous Kazakhstan sportsman, bronze medalist of Olympic games 2014. A few days ago he was murdered by two criminals who tried to steal side mirrors of his car. Thefts of mirrors and other parts of cars, which are then sold on local bazars, are very common and it was never discussed in media. Police haven’t paid enough heed to this problem and this led to death of one of the most talented sportsman of my country. Only after this horrifying tragedy society initiated the discussion of criminal situation and illegal trading in Kazakhstan. Now, police raids are performed in order to extinguish the whole system of illegal trading and city government is going to put cameras on free parking lots. All this actions are taken because of massive scandal in media followed by public resentment and clamor in social net.

However, there is another side of media in work. Pursuing the goal of making money, the forth power often post fake scandals in order to attract attention of people. A good example here could be president Donald Trump posting in Twitter groundless accusations of crookedness of Hillary Clinton, which in conjunction with other fake news contributed in the results of the elections. However, deception cannot last forever and after the truth revealed, such newspapers remain with stained reputation and loss of audience, which serves as an example to other press to avoid lying in future.

Overall, it could be seen that even fake scandals can become a serious problem, real stories can dramatically increase social attention to the issues and force government and people to change.