Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

While growing up, children should master certain skills in order to live better lives. Adulthood brings responsibilities and duties, taxes and budget planning into the life of everyone and it is important for teenagers to learn how to deal with all this attributes of adult life. School as the main resource of information for the student should give them not only academic knowledge, but also educate them in areas such as taxation, basics of law, finances, planning, etc.

The first reason is that schools are the best place for teenagers to learn it. Schools have enough resources to make this part of education highly qualified and comprehensible by hiring experts of the field who can work with children to explicate finer points of the matter. For example, managing finances is quiet complicated but incredibly necessary skill. If special time was given to learn it at school from people with educational and practical background in planning it would be very useful for students, as all of them are going to encounter problem of good financial management. Moreover, financially educated young people are beneficial for the overall economy because if they spend and invest more wisely, they will have higher income and the economy will flourish. For the government it will also bring profit through taxation and in the long term run will cover all expenditure on such extra education of students.

While this essay propounds that schools should give more knowledge about non-academic aspects of the adult life, one might argue that educational system shouldn't do parents job. From such point of view it may seem that to explain how to spend, cook, or pay taxes is what already done in the family. However, not all families pay enough attention to teach children such things for many different reasons. One possible cause, is that parents simply do not know how to deal with taxes or how to plan a budget. Another possible reason is that they don't have time or motivation to educate their child themselves, especially if they have tough, time-consuming jobs, and their children will grow up without acquiring essential skills for their future adult life. Yet, this won't happen if school adds non-academic educational programs in curriculum.

Overall, it can be seen that engagement of schools in students' mastering non-academic skills is plausible and expedient, as it contribute in social development. System should give opportunities for everyone to gain proficiency in order to deal with all aspects of adulthood.