If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

As the high education became accessible almost to everyone, modern labor market became overwhelmed with qualified people. An excessive supply certainly did not increase the demand for such number of workers and now many countries suffer from high unemployment rates, especially among young generation. Moreover, some countries have increased the retirement age and, thus, older and more experienced workers are still competing with younger ones for the job places. Today companies have lots of opportunities to choose who they want to hire and they often prefer experienced applicants for the job to the unexperienced ones, even if both have equal qualification. However, this is not always the best strategy.

One reason for companies to start hiring employees without work experience is that they might have professional vision free of stereotypes or that may occur during the long working or dogmas of an outdated high education programs because most likely workers with experience are the older generation and have finished their education long ago. For example, an experienced teachers at my school were less effective, for they used old methodology in explaining and denied the importance of gadgets in education, compared to young professionals who used all of the modern technological features, like Kahoot online-testing system for better check of students’ progress or Prezi program for presentations which is far more illustrative and convenient. The second reason is that almost always people without experience are young and very enthusiastic. They eager to learn, engage in self-development and work harder as they have no experience and need more practice. For instance, Shlumberger, an oil company in which every employee has to pass training, tries to hire students after they have finished universities because they can be trained much easier than older experienced workers, for they have got used to intensive learning and information processing at university.

On the other hand, there are many areas in which the more the experience the better. Quiet often nuances and peculiarities associated with particular job can be learnt only through the working process and companies want employees to be as effective as possible. Management, HR or PR techniques are best learnt through practice and of course firms would prefer experienced candidates, as they would probably bring more profit.

Overall, it can be said that experienced workers are not always the best ones. However, sometimes it is important for the firm to take it into account, depending on what type of job it offers to a candidate. Aforementioned examples shows that hiring should be decided on a case-by-case basis.