The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

According to the editorial, city council's proposal considers one possible solution for reduction of electric spendings of the city. He suggests to change incandescent bulbs to LEDs. The main reason for such change, as the council states, is that they burn brighter and cost the same as incandescent bulbs and, thus, will help to save money. However, there are some questions that need to be answered in order to evaluate the efficiency of such proposal.

First of all, does LEDs consume less electricity than incandescent bulbs? The fact that LEDs burn brighter doesn't imply that they are energy saving. Higher electricity consuming might be the reason for their brightness, hence, proposal will not only be inefficient, but will increase city's expenses. However, it might be the case that LEDs consume less, then there are more questions to be answered. Are public buildings consuming the most electrical energy in the city or it may be other public places such as subway or parks with streetlights? In the case when other public places consume more than buildings, policy will not work to decrease spendings. Another question: what about private sector? Is it consuming less than public one? If the answer is positive, then such proposal might be efficacious. But if private sector on the general consume more electricity, changing bulbs in public buildings, will slightly affect overall consumption. In this case, another policy for spending reducing should be considered.

From all the above, we can see that even though the argument presents a possible solution for the electricity saving, it is contingent upon many patterns of energy consumption in the city that should be taken into consideration. First, at a basic level, we should determine whether LEDs do require less energy. Second, analyze if public buildings are the main consumers. These steps might not lead exactly to the best solution of the city electrical consumption management, but would at least help to evaluate the council's proposal.