The council of Maple county

In this argument, the author concludes that limiting the supply of new housing will help to solve the problem about being overdeveloped and protecting farmland, but will also lead to a higher price. To support this conclusion, the author points out that Pine county has implemented the same policy and the price increased while a stagnation of price happened in Chestnut county. It is easy to understand the author want to protect the farmland and is concerned about people's well-being, but it is fraught with dubious assumptions that other county's success and failures may not happen here again. So the author's argument is problematic in several respects, rendering the argument unconvincing as it stands.

A threshold problem with the argument involves the Pine county's housing price doubles means the housing price here will increase too. The writer fails to give evidence to support this assumption. Perhaps, the government control the housing industry too much that there is dramatic reduction of housing. Or perhaps the new housing supply are originally not enough in Pine county, so the policy just deteriorated the situation. Given these possible scenarios, the facts about Pine county proves nothing about what will happen here. In order to better check the recommendation, I would need more information involving the comparison about Pine county and here.

In addition, the author demonstrates that price keep stable in Chestnut county. Yet, the author provides no evidence to support the assumption. Nobody can exclude the possibility that the government there have a great control on the price after limiting the new housing supply. Or maybe the government there prevents expansion of business housing construction and builds houses for people instead to control the number of new housing. To reinforce the argument, the auhtor would have to provide more assurances about the action process of the Chestnut government after carrying out the policy.

Finally, the author shed light upon the opinion that housing price will definitely increase in Maple county. Absent evidence to the contrary, it is quite possible that compared with Pine county, Maple county is more resemble to Chestnut county. To convince me that the price will surge, the author must provide clear evidence that the situation in Maple county is quite similar to Pine, but not the Chestnut county.

In a nutshell, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To better assess the strength of each of the author's three unwarranted claims, respectively, I would need to know more basic information about the Maple, Pine and Chestnut county.