The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

In this argument, the store owners conclude that the increasingly more skateboarders in Plaza contributes to the decrease of their business.To support this conclusion, the author points out that more skateboarders bring environmental problem and everything will be on the right track,if the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. It is easy to understand the store owners are dying for booming business, but it is fraught with dubious assumptions that the deterioration of business has any relationship with skateboard users.So the author’s argument is problematic in several respects, rendering the argument unconvincing as it stands.

A threshold problem with the argument involves that the decrease in business is the result of huge groups of skateboarders. The writer fails to offer any evidence to support this assumption. Perhaps the owner’s strategy for running the business fails, or perhaps consumers have gradually changed their shopping style, preferring to shop online, instead of retailing stores. Given these possible scenarios, the facts that more skateboarders proves nothing about the decrease business in Central Plaza.In order to better evaluate the recommendation, I would need more information involving whether the skateboarders have ever done something, disturbing shopping experience or not.

In addition, The author demonstrates that skateboarders result in severe environment problems, like much more litter and vandalism through the shopping center. Yet, the author provides no evidence to support the assumption. Nobody can exclude the possibility that Central Plaza has spent less on taking charge of the environment or hiring sanitation workers. If fewer staff are in charge of sweeping the litters away and throwing the trash, it will turn out to be a tough assignment for them to finish cleaning on time as the way they did before. To reinforce the argument, the author would have to offer more assurances about the cost of cleaning the shopping center during the past years.

Finally, the author shed light upon the opinion that prohibiting skateboarding will definitely solve the problem.Absent evidence to the contrary, it is quite possible that Central Plaza will be less attractive to potential consumers. For example, maybe residents, especially youngsters, living there admires a challenging spirits. So if other nearby shopping center welcomes skateboarders but Central Plaza does not, the brand image of it can be hurt.People may get the idea that stores in Plaza disparage this kind of sport.To convince me that prohibition of skateboarding in Central Plaza will be effective, the author must give clear evidence about the projection of net cash flow of their business after that ban.

In a nutshell, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To better assess the strength of the author’s three unwarranted claims, respectively, I would need to know skateboarders’ impact on customers, the cost of managing the environment there and projection of net cash flow of their business after that ban .