The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

In these memo, the teacher of Sanlee High School recommends to assign homework no more than twice a week as done by teacher of Marlee High School. To bolster the recommendation, the author provide the following facts about Marlee High School: (1) Marlee students earn better grade overall despite receiving less frequent homework assignments (2) students from Marlee high school are required to repeat a year of school that students from Sanlee (3) few homework assignments provide more time to concentrate on individual assignments. Close scrutiny of each these facts however reveals that none of them lend no credible evidence to support the recommendation.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that assigning less homework to the students to the students of Sanlee as does in Marlee will improved their academic results. If this is the case, then it does not sound proper to address the problems faced by Sanlee high school. The reason behind this is that giving only less assignments to the students doesn't improve their results. Further, different practices and method should be disseminated to the students so as to make them interested in their study. Thus, the argument fails to mention the necessary criteria to up lift their results.

Secondly, the argument could have been much clearer if the Sanlee High School found certain limitation of students for repeating a year of school as only giving less assignments to the students doesn't lend to solve such problem. Similarly, this school has to acquire different problems faced by such students during their academic period. Moreover, the academic qualification of the tutors should be checked strongly as they are responsible for guiding students. Hence, the argument doesn't lend no viable evidence to buttress the recommendation.

Finally, the argument fails to mention one of the key factors on the basis of which it could have been evaluated, if the students from Marlee High School can concentrate on individual assignments quite effectively, then what are the methods applied by academic department should be checked properly by the administration of Sanlee High School. Only inspecting their methods on surface level doesn't provide optimal solution to their thriving problems. Therefore, the argument remains unsubstantiated and becomes open to debate.

To sum up, the argument relies on dubious assumptions that renders unconvincing as it stands. To bolster the recommendation, the school authorities of Sanlee High School must provide clear evidence; perhaps by a local study or survey; different methods overwhelmed by Marlee administration on their students should be entailed properly, highly qualified teacher faculties should be employed and proper nourishment and care should be provided to students to make them competitive. To better assess the recommendation, I would need to know why Sanlee school pressurized the students for homework till date and why school environment is not students friendly and doesn't carried out extra curricular activities time and again.