The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp contends that an interview-centered method is much more accurate to understand child-rearing traditions in Tertia than an observation-centered approach that Dr. field used twenty years ago is. To support the argument, Dr. Karp provides the evidence; it turned out that the children in Tertia spend much more time talking about their biological parents by applying the interview-centered method. It might appear to be credible at first glance that the interview-centered method gives more reliable information; however, closer scrutiny reveals that it lacks substantiated evidence and is therefore problematic as it stands.

The speaker assumes that the fact that the Tertia children talks about their biological parents most of the time implies the observation-centered method was wrong. However, the speaker overlooks that the children-rearing tradition which prevailed twenty years ago has changed over time. For example, there was not any strong public desire for democracy and equality in Korea twenty years ago. It took nothing more than twenty years for people in Korea to have a strong opinion on democracy and equality. Likewise, the way to rear children in Tertia also would have experienced fast changes. To support this evidence, the speaker has to provide evidence that the tradition has not changed.

Moreover, the evidence that the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents does not fully support the speaker’s argument. Even though children are reared by the entire village, it does not change that they are kids of parents and thus they are expected to have a strong affinity to their biological parents anyhow. One of my cousins was raised by my mother for her infant days but she felt stronger linkage to her mother. Because it can be assumed that biological parents would give much more love to their children than any other in Tertia, this reasoning can appear to be misleading. Unless the speaker provides data that can show the fact regardless of personal fondness, this inference is erroneous.

Finally, the speaker’s conclusion is based on a vague term and insufficient data. For instance, the speaker uses ‘much more time’ to lead to the conclusion that Thertian children are normally reared by their parents. Besides, it also lacks detailed data about methods that Dr. Field and Dr. Karp have used, which will help better criticize the methods. In order to make the argument credible, the speaker should clarify what the speaker mentions with more detailed information. Without having more information, it would not be so easy for readers to make confident conclusion.

In sum, the speaker’s assertion is not well supported. To strengthen it, the speaker should provide sufficient evidence that will eliminate all the above doubts and questions. To better assess the assertion, the speaker has to make further evidence such as 1) trend of Tertian tradition and 2) data regardless of personal fondness, which shows by whom children have been reared.