The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this article, Dr. Karp tried to indicate that the method, called interview-centered, was more accurate than observation-centered approach, and denied the conclusion 20 years ago by using the interviews with children recently. At the first glance, the infer looks reasonable and convincing. However, it still exists some flaws in the passage, after carefully analyzing the causation he considered.

To begin with, Dr. Karp didn’t detailed describe how did Dr. Field collect the data and how many samples did he use. What’s more, it’s not reliable for an expert to make a conclusion only taking one indication. On the other hand, it’s not entirely logical to say the children were raised by the entire village as the expert observed that biological parents didn’t spend much time accompanying them. The definition of rear is wide, it may be divided into accompany and financial support. It’s possible that parent indeed went working, leaving children in the island, but they might earn more money to give their beloved kids high quality of life. Hence, it’s not necessarily true that directly jump to the conclusion Dr. Field summarized through the observation-centered approach.

Secondly, children Dr. Karp interviewed were different with Dr. Field, let alone the area isn’t exactly same. Dr. Field chose merely the island of Tertia, while Dr. Karp included the group of islands containing Tertia. In addition, the structure of family, economics, and culture might have changed drastically during 20 years. It’s likely that main occupation has shifted from agriculture to service, and the unemployed rate has decreased gradually. The whole style of people’s daily life is no longer identical compared with 2 decade ago. Accordingly, even though the interviewed-method is verified better than observed-method by other cases. The evidence Dr. Karp adopting to prove that the experiment Dr. Field was invalid may not be acceptable.

To sum up, it still leaves many existed problems for Dr. Karp to solve before he wants to prove Dr. Field’s conclusion is wrong and convinces others to believe his method is accurate.