The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author, Dr. Field, has contended that his interveiew-centered method is far more superior than observetion-centered method of Dr. Karp. However, the author's argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions, which if proven invalid, will undermine the argument. The deficiencies in the argumetns need to be addressed, in order to consider it seriously.

First, Dr. Field refers to the study conducted twenty years ago. There lies the first assumption that nothing has changed in the past twenty years on the island of Tertia in terms child-rearing. It is quite possible that during the past twenty years, the villagers have adopted newer methods of parenting. Thus, the study conducted twenty years ago might be true as well.The author fails to provide data needed to support this assumption.

Second, the author cites to the interviews conducted in the group of island including Tertia and states that children spoke more about their biological parents than about other adults. The author, here, assumes that island near Tertia have the similar methods of child rearing. It may be the case that apart from their close proximity, the group of islands have nothing in common. Furthermore, how much time did the team spend on Tertia? How extensively did they study island? It is possible that they study focused more on the nearby islands and spent less time on Tertia. Moreover, regarding the interviews and childrens responses, it is quite possible that all the questions asked were related to their biological parent. Perhaps the children talked about how they do not see their parents and would like to see them more often. The assumptions are baseless. In addition, they can seriously damage the integrity of study, if the related eveidence is not presented.

In Conclusion, The author has made a hasty conclusion and has failed to make a convincing argument. If the above-mentioned assumtpion and deficiencies in the arguments are not addressed, the argement, as it stands now, is invalid.