The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

The numerous complaints regarding the dizziness and nausea have registered from the consumers of Promofoods tuna. People have requested that promofoods tuna should be return for testing. Where on the other side Promofood concluded that caned tuna did not posed health risk. The company states that test were performed on samples of the recalled cans by their own chemist and it do not pose any health risk. However conclusion relies on testing of limited number of cans for which there are no clear evidences.

To begin with, testing was performed by promofoods own chemist. And number of cans tested was only eight. Whereas request was to test eight million cans of promofoods tuna. It shows that testing was not appropriate as number of samples taken for the testing was very less.

Furthermore, chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods. The assumption was based on their own knowledge, however, it may be harmful or it may cause the dizziness and nausea. Also chemist does not provide any evidence which states that such type of chemicals occurs naturally in the can foods. There may be some scientific reasons behind it, which is not cleared from the chemist’s assumption.

In conclusion, due lack of evidence appropriate testing of promofoods tuna is required not only by their own chemist but also by some other authorities. Also company should pause there sells and production of tuna until and unless the clear evidence that the tune does not pose any health risk like dizziness and nausea is confirmed from testing.