Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Laws and legal systems are made to maintain the discipline, increase the security of the society. Whereas author claims that problems of the society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system. And the reason behind this is laws cannot change what is in people’s heart or mind. At some constraint the claim by the author is not true.

Firstly, laws and legal systems have to follow certain prototypes and they have some limitations. They cannot directly change people’s minds or hearts but they can set examples for the society. For example, by giving the punishment to the person or group who has done some criminal activity or part of crime they can change ones mind. So, before thinking about any criminal activity one will think twice about consequences of that crime on his/her own future.

Secondly, every time we cannot blame laws and legal system for not solving the problems of modern society. Its also individuals responsibility to maintain the discipline of the society. For example, police cannot arrest the person on the basis of doubt there should be a strong physical evidence before arresting any person. Also its individuals responsibility to cooperate with the legal system and follow all the laws.

In conclusion, laws and authorities are made for the people of the society and to solve their problems. Whereas , law and legal systems also have certain limitations due to which they are not able to fulfill the peoples needs or not able to solve the problem of society. We cannot conclude Laws can completely change what is in peoples mind and hearts but it may help people to change there heart and mind.