The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

On the suspicious of causing dizziness and nausea tuna cans of Promofoods were recalled for additional testing to check this assumption. Though the testes proved that the cans cannot cause these problems, we cannot rely upon the arguments provided in the text, because they contain logical flaws.

The major point to think about is whether the tests were accurate, and their results present relevant conclusion we can trust. From the text we know that testes were made by chemists working for Promofoods, thus the question whether they performed independent research emerges. For example, they could follow the interests of the company to protect its reputation and name that is why they could hide a part of information from publication. Thus, we need to be sure that tests were full and not made by people interested in this deal.

The following fact to look closer is that how right chemists were when they focused on finding only well-known and common causes of the deceases. It might have been more reasonable to make broader testes to find a real reason. If the amount of the 8 elements is low or it is absence at all, we still cannot claim that the product is safe. For example, the cans of the company can contain other dangerous elements which can be found in order performing more detailed tests. That is why, even if the most common cases were not found, it does not mean that the tuna cans cannot harm the health.

Moreover, the fact that the cans contain like literally all tuna cans of other companies small amounts of three elements leading to the symptoms is debatable. Since we are not provided with any detailed information on this topic, we cannot fully trust it. First, we do not know whether other cans have these elements at all, and secondly, how much they contain them. For example, indeed other companies can use these elements, but in smaller quantities than Promofoods. That is why more numbers should be provided to prove this fact.

To sum up, based on the arguments in this essay, the conclusion derived from the tests that the tuna cans do not cause dizziness and nausea lacks of strong supportive facts.