The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville discusses about how to make more audiences in order to make more profits. He documented that advertisement doesn’t attract people and eventually causing profits significantly. Basically, one of his vision is to increase the profit is to have ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program as Avon Repertory Company made ‘Free Plays in the Park’ program. This program will induce the audiences to come Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville and make more profits. It seems very logically convincing at first glance, but there is unstated assumption that affect the Marketing director’s argument.

First of all, the question should be answered is how the advertisement made? The purpose of the advertisement is to attract people to buy goods or see movies, musicals and so on. However, in opposite direction of purpose of advertisement, marketing director of Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville is showing advertisement doesn’t show any profits at all. The advertisement probably doesn’t have make attraction of Classical Shakespeare Theatre. To bolster the argument, they should have change the advertisement in various types.

Furthermore, where marketing director advertise to? It is very important that where advertisement arises because this will decide which age of customers are going to see. If it was on the internet, for example, twenty to thirty years old people will probably watch this advertisement, but they are not interested in Classical Shakespeare Theatre, then it definitely lose advertisement purpose. To strengthen argument, marketing director should cast failure of example in advertisement into various types of way, such as social media, mass media, TV show so that marketing director determines that advertisement didn’t help to make profits.

Moreover, the question should answered is how to tell a profit if there nonfactor of doing the similar program as did Avon Repertory Company? It has been two year that Avon Repertory Company did this program. Marketing director didn’t show any evidence about the recent profit of Avon Repertory Company; it can be stagnant. Even if Avon Repertory Company make profit of ten percent recently, it doesn’t mean that Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville is going to make better profits.

In conclusion, since there are several types of unsubstantiated assumption that is not convincing, marketing director should answer with these question, then it will help to bolster that Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville will increase the profit as he expected, then the argument can be more logically sound.