The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this magazine excerpt, the author asserts that a decline in fitness level of Corpora's citizens has nothing to do with their computer usage. However, the author’s assertion is tenuous as it relies on several invalid.

The reading passage states that some citizens of Corpora have highest fitness levels even though they have highest computer ownership rate, so using computer is less related to citizens’ health level. In this assumption, the author implies that if someone owns a computer, they use it. However, this cannot be always true as people often buy something and never use it. Even though they bought a computer, they might not use it probably because they do not have enough time due to their work or they prefer to spend time doing another thing. Given that most people who own a computer tend to use it quite often in general, the assumption is still invalid. Although the author implies that highest computer ownership rate of the regions indicates citizens’ actual ownership of computer, yet the ownership rate can be high due to another factor. For example, if there are many computer shops in the regions, the shop owners have many new computers that no one use. It is not clear how the computer ownership rate is calculated, but if were the case, computer ownership can be high, while the citizen’s computer usage time is low. To support the passage's argument, citizens’ computer usage time should rather be considered to evaluate effects of using computer on health.

Besides, the author assumes that citizen's decreased consumption on health products and services is more plausible cause for their worsened health level than their computer usage. The assumption implies that people who cannot afford health products and services might have trouble maintaining their health in good shape. However, consuming fitness-related products do not always have critical effect on people’s health. No matter how do people put much money on health products and services, it is useless if they do not put their efforts on them. For example, if someone bought an expensive treadmill but never use it, he or she cannot expect any good health effect. Or if someone is taking a personal training program in order to lose weight but do not follow the trainer’s dietary instruction, she or he could not be skinnier. Even assuming that low expenditures on heatl-related products and services affected citizen’s health level in some degree, this does not prove that using computer has nothing to do with people’s health. Computer usage can still have effect on the citizens’ fitness level along with the economic status.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide enough supports for the argument that using computer does not cause the decline in people’s health level. Since the argument does not present reliable data on the causal relationship between citizens’ computer usage rate and their health status, it lacks logical reasoning and plausibility.