Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim implies that imagination that are not based on the real-world experience is precious. Admittedly, many great fantasy novels and movies that has widely loved by people have shown the greatness of imagination. However, in terms of dealing with real-world problems, I disagree with the statement because real-word experience have motivated inventors and innovators to move forward toward a better state by solving established problems and overcoming situated limitations.

Imagination might bring creative ideas that people would never be able to experience without it. A lot of SF movies, novels or any other arts works that entail creative values are based on the creators' pure imaginations. For example, in one of recent famous movies, Interstella, the main character is trapped in fourth dimension of the space, and the past events of his life become visible to his eyes. Even though professional scientists or physicists are not likely to conform with this unrealistic idea, still this story entails priceless assets in that it enable people to be immersed in a totally different world. If the director or the writer of this movie thoroghly considered restraints and impossibility of the situation, he would never came up with such a unique and extraordinary movie scenario. Many other masterpieces based on fantasy story such as "Harry Potter", "Alice in wonderland" also bring credit to the writers' imaginations.

However, in other contexts, experience rather takes a critical role dealing with practical issues in the real world. We can get insightful ideas by being absorbed into the problem situation and understating the constraints and limitations of the problem. Edison made a lot of innovative inventions in the basis of his deep understanding of the constraints and the limitations in situated problems. One of his famous inventions, a light bulb, was developed from the desire for artificial lights at night. If he had never experienced the inconvenience of reading books or doing chores only with candlelight at night, he would not have been motivated to create a light bulb. In addition, we can evaluate the value of new ideas or imagination through experience. Benjamin Franklin conducted an empirical experiment where he flew a kite in a storm in order to prove his idea that lightning is electricity. Owing to this real experience, he could contribute to the history of physics.

In conclusion, it seems true that various contributions are made through imagination in multitude of fields, especially in the fields of movie or novel. However, there exists innovative inventions and contributions on account of real world experiences.