There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

This argument asserts that people who live slow life in small towns have better health and higher longevity than those who live in big cities by comparing residents of Leeville(town) and Masonton(city). However, the argument is tenuose in that it depends on several invalid assumptions and there exist alternative explanations that contradicts the assertion.

First, the argument assumes that fewer sick leaves represent the better health status of people. However, what if people in Leeville are more reluctant to take a break, even though they are sick? It is possible that there are fewer people in Leeville than in Masonton so that one person's absence might have more critical impact than Masonton's person do, which lead people feel sorry to leave their work even though they are sick. In addition, the companies in Manston might more care about their employees' welfare than Leeville's do, so that the employers are more generous about sick leaves, which lead them more sick leaves.

Moreover, more number of physicians does not necessarily means worse health of people. The hospitals of Masonton might cover bigger range of sickness than that of Leeville because Mansonton might need to deal with diverse diseases corresponding to the huge population of the city, so that they need to hire more physicians to cover the diversity. Alternatively, there might be many job offers for physicians in Mansonton as the city hospitals are financially more abundant than the small scale of hospitals in the town. Higher salary could be another variable that might attract the higher number of physicians in Mansonton than in Leeville.

Third, the comparison of average age of residents in two cities does not indicate any clue of their general longevity. The fact that there are more elderly people in Leeville than in Mansonton does not necessarily means that people in Leeville live longer than those of Mansonton. What if young people of Maonton would live longer than the elderly people of Leeville would? This is more convincing as residents of Masonton are likely to have better chances to take care of their health due to enough number of physicians, while in Leeville, one physicians should care about one thousands residents, which seems too burdensome.

In conclusion, the argument of the passage is tenuous owing to the flaws of the assumptions mentioned above. It fails to provide enough supports and evidence that can back up the better health and greater longevity in small towns than in big cities. Additional information and data such as longevity of the residents or health reports of the people should be considered in order to corroborate this argument.