The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the reading passage, the author asserts that the sales of Whirlwind video games would increase in the following months based on a survey's result and the company's marketing plan. However, the assumptions are unsubstiated and based on lack of evidence. Therefore the argument is implausible as it stands.

First, the agument assumes that the survey shows the sales trend that is advantageous to Whirlwind video games. However, the linkage betwwen this survey result and Whirlwind's future success is weak, as the survey only indicates the important components for a video game that people might prefer. Firstly, it does not show any clue that people are going to like Whirlwind's video games because whether whirlwind's video games will meet the criteria of the survey results or not is not clear. Even assuming that Whirlwind's video games have such component following the result of survey, it is still questionable if the survey results correctly reflects Whirlwind's potential customers' tastes. If the survey group and Whrlwind's potential customers are belong in different age group, the survey results cannot be applied to the expectation for future success of Whirlwind video games.

Furthermore, the author claims that Whirlwind's huge marketing campaign focusing on young age group of people will lead its dramatic success. Yet, this assumption seems awkward as the author does not state anything about the quality of the campaign. Even though the company would invenst thousands of money on advertising, if they do not have proper marketing strategy and efforts targeting to the age group, they would not be able to suceed. In addition, the product quality should be taken into consideration. No matter how much the company aggresively operate the advertising campaign, people would not buy their video games if the product quality is bad. The huge scale of advertising might increase people's awareness of the company's product, but it does not necessarily lead customer's actual buyings. The market study invetigating people's preference on Wirlwind's video games would rather be helpful in predicting the company's future success. The author implies that investing enormous amount of money on advertising would guarantee sales growth.

In conclusion, the argument of the passage is tenuous because it fails to provide enough supports for the potential success of Whirlwind video games. It primarily depends on the lack of evidence and incorrect implications on the possibility of sales increase in Whirwind video games.