The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editor of the Balmer Island Gazette concludes that reducing the daily rentage of mopeds should reduce the accidents. To justify this claim, he reasons that the neighboring island of Seaville reduced their accident rates by similar methodology. The author draws an optimistic picture that the Balmer Island can solve the accident problem by limiting the rentage. However, the author makes several major assumptions that need to be adressed before the town council make the final decision.

The chief problem of the author’s argument is that the author even did not give the accident numbers in the island; therefore, the the significance of the argument is not clear even though the argument mentions the summer population. If the author had provided a detailed analysis of accident rates in years or months, the argument might be more convincing to the reader. Perhaps in this way we can understand the specific time period of the accidents and it leads us to the reasons of accidents.

Even if we accept that the accident numbers are considerably high and need to be argued, he did not mention the reasons of recorded accidents. The accidents might occur because of the low quality of the roads or a machinery problems on mopeds. Perhaps most of the accidents happen in a same place that has a wrong planned roads. Or perhaps, the accountability of the moped sellers is questionable. They might sell some improper machinery that endangers the people’s safety.

Furthermore, the editor readily assumes that Balmer island can utilize similar methodology of the Seaville island. This is again a weak assumption that there is no clear correlation between two islands except they are island. Islands may have different properties that affects the reasons of accidents. For example, the only problem in Seaville might be overuse of the mopeds or the extreme traffic, because the reduction in limit can be solution in these reasons. However, the Balmer island might have different problems like the ones previously mentioned. To make this argument more valid, the author can express the similarities in these islands.

In conclusion, the author makes a contradictive argument that one might be persuasive for the reader, if its premises were true. To bolster it further, the author can provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by detailed analysis of the previous accidents. The argument could be more useful for the final decision, if the editor would have been introduce more solution ways.