Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The speaker claims that the solution of today’s problems dos not relies on the laws and the legal system. To justify this claim, the speaker reasons that opinions and feelings of a person can not change by the laws. There are some countries like England even though some rights do not stand by laws; however, they are accepted from majority. On the other hand, some countries have strict legislation that the rights and the responsibilities are clearly determined. I partially agree with the statement that laws are not effective on changing the minds of a people;however, we can not say that they are not a solution in many case. The claim needs more specification on the type of the solutions.

First of all, the ideas or the feelings are the source of the actions. Laws can restrict the actions, or differentiate right and wrong. Even though the action is punished by the laws, some can not prohibit its happening without erasing it source. Especially, last decade stands on a great example about this issue. Most of the western civilizations gave the same gender marriage rights to their citizens. Most of them also has protective laws against discrimination. Nevertheless, the LGBT community still faces with great discrimination from the early ages to their adult life. For example, the suicide rates among homosexual teens are increasing. Most of the cases shows that the reason is the hate came from their schoolmates. These are clear evidences that people still can not erase homophobia in their minds , although the country gave many rights and protection to the homosexual people.

Besides homophobia, racism is still a vital problem in 2016. Even after decades from equality of colors, racial discrimination is unfortunately alive and strong. In particular, Black Lives Matter movement in USA has brought many controversial issues along. Especially social media is the full of the racist accounts that can share anything behind anonymity mask. This also raises a question that, if the social media has some legislation to overcome this issues, would the people continue to write racist comments? This question also raises further ones like should some ideas be forbidden? It may be beneficial for a short period, but after some time people will find different platform to speak about their minds.

Finally, the roles of the laws can not be underestimated because thanks to them the crimes can be differentiate from the right actions. Perhaps, they symbolize the difference of right and wrong. Moreover, they can be play a dissuasive role for criminal candidates. If they contain strong punishments, people might dissuade from their actions. However, it again only stops the action. On the contrary, to solve a problem, some has to erase the problem itself.

In conclusion, although the laws are important to stop taking action, most of the time they are not effective on exterminate of the problems.