The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation in the letter to Balmer Island Gazette provided the idea to put limits on the number of rented mopeds which will prevent during summer seasons to abridge the number of road accidents. Though it contains some arguments which may look rational on the first glance, this letter is full of logical flaws.

The major reason to apply these measures is the increasing population during summer time to 100,000 people, but this fact should be investigate in detail. Thus, the total area of the inland as well as the density of population should have been mentioned to make this argument to sound more relevant. For example, if the square of the Balmer Island is tremendous, then a person per square is low. This way the increasing population will not affect much. Moreover, it is unstated that perhaps even more people come to the inland during other seasons.

The idea to restrict only rented mopeds is questionable, because there is no information that they are the main source of accidents on roads. Perhaps, these situation happened, because pedestrians are careless when they are crossing roads. That’s is why it would be more reasonable to take measures towards pedestrians and not to limit the number of mopeds. In addition to this, there might occur that locals have their own vehicles, and there is no need to rent them. Hence, the idea of restricting rented mopeds will not change the situation with the number of road accidents.

The comparison between Balmer Island and the island of Seaville is not applicable because of some reasons. The first of them is that the situation on that island might have been completely different. For example, the curtail of road accidents indeed were people who had rent mopeds, and it was proven, moreover, the population is more packed, that is why the restriction to rent 25 mopeds per day played off. There is no reason to rely on the experience of that island, because it has its own experience which can differs a lot.

To sum up, based on the arguments I provided in this essay, the recommendation to restrict rented moped may not work well as it is supposed.