The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt claims that by reducing the moped rentals by 50 per cent in Balmer Island (BI) will reduce the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. It used the evidence of results achieved by implementing similar steps in Seaville (S). However, the argument does not make a cogent case since it is rife with holes and fissures. Before the argument is properly evaluated, following questions must be answered.

First, do S and BI comparable? In other words, is it possible or reasonable to assume that S and BI have similar geography, road conditions and same size of population? It may be not. It may happen that population density in S is so large that they live nearby to main roads and highways where as in BI it is very less. Therefore, the accidents in S may be in large numbers since there may be less space available for pedestrians to walk but due to sufficient space in BI, accidents involving pedestrians may not be significant. Further, it may also happen that BI is tourist location and it is preferred during summer months but S is a commercial district which is crowded throughout the year. Therefore, the accidents in S may be larger in a whole year but it may not be so in BI. Therefore, the results achieved in S may not be recrudesce in BI. If both the hypothesis were true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Second, does moped rental is solely responsible for accidents? It may not true. For instance, it may happen that no. of accidents involving pedestrians and cars are larger than that of mopeds since people who come to this location during summers may be tourists and may like to hire a car instead of mopeds. Further, do the increased population during summer months hire mopeds and these mopeds are responsible for accidents? It may be specious since it may happen that the tourist population follow traffic rules strictly who hires mopeds but the regular citizen of this island are flouting rules and therefore may be responsible for accidents. Therefore, reducing the rentals may be futile. If both the examples were true, then the argument does not hold the water.

Third, will reduction in rental reduce accidents? Only time will tell but nothing certain as of now. Since, it may happen that mopeds are not responsible for accidents because people have already reduced using mopeds but to compensate that they have started using motor cars and for their this new venture, accidents are on rise since their car driving skill may not be tested. Will 50 per cent reduction reduce accident by 50 per cent? It may not be realised. Since it may happen that it is not a problem of using a particular vehicle but with the driving skills of a driver. For instance, people using mopeds does not abide by rules and have no verified safe driving skills, therefore they are responsible for accidents. By reducing the rentals, they may be forced to start using the alternative and accidents would keep on increasing. Therefore, unless the claim is fully verified, it cannot be used to support its desired results.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the council is able to offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of research study covering number of accidents involving only mopeds, number of people using mopeds and frequency of other vehicles responsible for accidents, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument.