The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

The letter written to the Balmer Island Gazette argues that the town council of Blamer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds renting from the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. It also adds that a similar plan has worked for the neighboring island of Torseau which enforced similar limits on mopeds rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. The author argues that putting this limit will reduce the moped accidents in Balmer Island. However, the argument lacks pieces of evidence and it is based on many assumptions.

The author here says that the thing which worked for the island of Torseau will also work for Balmer Island which is not true. The two islands may be different in a lot of ways. There may be a difference in population, traffic rules and the number of people having mopeds. Based on the information the population of Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. There is no data showing how many people having mopeds first of all. It is possible that there is a lack of traffic rules or people of Balmer Island are not following them which is causing accidents. The roads of Balmer Island maybe not in a good condition for driving. There are a number of assumptions that the author has ignored and there is a lack of pieces of evidence to support the argument.

It is also possible that by limiting the number of mopeds renting from 50 per day to 30 per day will cause even more accidents. As people will have now less number of mopeds available so they will overcrowd the moped and this will increase the chances of an accident. Additionally, there is no data available on how much mopeds renting limit enforced by the island of Torseau and the reduction of 50 percent reduction in accidents may have come due to better driving training to drivers, better traffic rules and better infrastructure.

To sum up, the author needs to provide more supporting data and pieces of evidence to prove his argument. The argument provided has many loopholes and is based on illogical reasons and incorrect premises.