The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

What worked for Torseau island may not work for Balmer island but what works for balmer island will work for sure.

With out knowing the population of Torseau, width of the the roads in torseau and other geographical factors we can't conclude that limiting the number of mopeds decreased the accidents number. There is a possibility that limiting the number of roads and coupled with some other factors may lead to reduction in accidents in Torseau. It is a grave mistake to think that limiting the number of mopeds decrease the accidents number in Balmer as the population in Balmer may be far greater than Torsearu. In that case limiting the number of mopeds will not be helpful in reduction of accidents in Balmer island.

On top of that, Torseau might have had more number of moped rental companies. So, limiting such a greater number of moped rental companies may have the significant reduction in the number of mopeds and lead to lesser number of accidents. But, in the Balmer island case, the number of mopeds running may already be less and may be it is the population that we need to take care. There is no substantial evidence to say that limiting the number of mopeds rented by moped rental companies on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents

So, analyzing the reasons behind the accidents in Balmer island will help in materializing a viable solution for the Balmer island but not by imitating the same resolutions implemented by neighboring countries.