Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Problems of any society can be solved by laws and the legal system which are time relevant. I disagree with the claim that many problems of society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system. With out law and the legal system, there will be chaos, disorder and confusion in society. It is not that laws and the legal system can not solve the modern society problems but they tend to be irrelevant for the as the time goes. So, laws and the legal system have to be checked periodically whether they are being relevant to the progressing society. Let us discuss some of the benefits of law and the legal system in the society.

Firstly, Law and the legal system helps us to maintain discipline in the society. Particularly in the highly populated areas, Laws and the legal system are mandatory to govern such large number of people. With out this discipline, it is extremely difficult to cater to needs of all the people. Discipline is the first thing needed to create a great society. Discipline makes people do the things in right manner and prevents resorting to activities which are harmful to the society.

Laws and the legal system helps to put a standard and direction in the society so that anyone who follow those standards will travel in a direction which makes the society a better place. If not for the laws and the legal system, everyone acts according to thier own instinct or choice. This may be beneficial to the individual but severely harmful to the society. The individual may not know the repurcussions of his choices in the society and may end up doing that forever. This may lead to irrevocable damage to the society.

In addition, with out the laws and the legal system, governance becomes difficult as we have to address each issue individually. This consumes a lot of time. It is not good for society to handle the issues sluggishly.

Traffic system is the best example to support that laws and the legal system make society a better place.

It is not that laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds. It should understand what is happening in the current world. It should act according to the current society needs. So, many problems of modern society can be solved by laws and the legal system.