The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author concludes that the business in Central Plaza will boom if skateboarding is banned. To bolster the argument, the author points out that many Central Plaza store owners blames skateboarders for causing their business failure. However, it is still replete with a myriad of assumptions which could not suffice to back the argument.

To begin, the author unfairly claims that what Central Plaza store owners said are true, and the popularity of skateboarding should be the contributor to the decrease of number of shoppers. Here, the author obviously rests on an unwarranted assumption that there are no other possible reasons for the decreasing shoppers. However, it is possible that the shopping mall was being constructed over the past two years, and shoppers were not willing to go shopping here because of the noises and dirty air. Or it is possible that the transportation was really bad over the past two years near the Central Plaza and there was another mall opening not far from the original plaza but with subway station in it opening. Shoppers, thus, chose to buy staffs in the newly opened shopping mall rather than the plaza. In short, more information to address the question as to whether other possible explanation for the decline of number of shoppers exist or not is needed to corroborate the author’s reasoning.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza was caused by the skateboarders. However, the assumption is tenuous. If there is no police patrol around the plaza and the plaza has really poor management on avoiding vandalism, the amount of litter and vandalism will increase naturally even though no skateboarders drop litters or damage public properties. Thus, without additional information of whether Central Plaza has strict management on vandalism avoiding, it is difficult to access the merit of the statement.

Finally, assuming that indeed the popularity of skateboarding cause the business failure of stores in Central Plaza, it does not necessarily mean that the business of Central Plaza can return to its previous high level after skateboarding was prohibited here. The author assumes that consumers will immediately come back to the mall and no other factors can influence their decisions. However, the author fails to provide any evidence to support the assumption. Perhaps, consumers have psychological shadows to the dirtiness of Central Plaza, and are not willing to go there although it becomes cleaner now. It is also likely that shoppers do not know Central Plaza have prohibited skateboarding because the mall did not spend money on advertisement, and thus assumes that the shopping mall is as dirty as before and choose not to go there for shopping. Therefore, in order to fully persuade the readers, the author should provide more detailed information towards whether shoppers have shadows on the mall and whether they are informed of the prohibition.

In a nutshell, the argument is unconvincing as it relies on several unjustifiable assumptions. If the argument has included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more logically acceptable.