The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above recommendation is not based on logical conclusions, as most of the shopkeepers should consider everyone equally and focus on how to pitch the people who are coming rather that thinking that if these type of people stop coming other type will come. The only suriety in any bussiness is that you don't know what is going to happen next and when is it going to happen. Not all plans work as expected.

Now, looking at the skateboarders we need to understand that they are most of the younger generation, and all of us know that youngsters are mostly interested in shooping. So the store owners should provide them student discounts, ask these students to bring more customers and pay them some amount for doing that. Moreover, give them group discounts. This would definitely help in improving the bussiness of the stores.

The major problem of the plaza owners is that these guys do alot of litter and are involved in vandalism, for this they need to drag their attention towards Las Vegas where every person gets high and does all the above mentioned things at a very high level. Still, we never hear anyone complaining about it because some improvement in the cleaning and security facilities can solve these issues very easily and the overall atmosphere is going to normal.

On the other hand, the people in the support of the above suggestion would say that these individuals don't have enough money to buy our stuff. On this thing they are totally forgeting the fact that people from anywhere if they are not independant they have parents, guardians, etc. Because everyone has some source to pay for their basic needs either its themselves or someone else.

To conclude, the skateborders should not be seen as people who are there to increase problems but they should be targeted to amplify the sales of the stores.