The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument is based on logical grounds as it takes away a huge amount of tension from the head of the professors and they can work more on the professional life and stop taking tensions about the personal life. Knowing that their children have a safe future.

Firstly, if the faculty knows that their kids are going to study in the university where they are teaching then they would work really hard to bring the university to the highest level and nothing should hamper the reputation of the institution as this is the name by which their are going to be recognized for the rest of their life.

Secondly, if the management takes care of the staff as family members they also treat them in the same manner. And, all of us know how hard a person works for the family. The entire organisation taking the responsibility of the kids by educating them puts the staff in a position to do more work that just completing the tasks given in their job description. The faculty members tend to spend extra hours working.

The people who oppose the above recommendation would say that the professors get huge salaries and we should not provide them with this stuff as this would lead to loss of the educational institutions. These people are totally neglecting the point that the colleges charge heavy amounts of money from a lot of students and they would not be affected to provide free education to 30-40 students.

To conclude, providing extra favors to the professors would motivate them to work an extra level for the organisation. We need to understand the organisation is known for its employees and its not vice versa.