The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument has failed to convince us that the decrease in the number of shoppers in central plaza is due to the skateboard users in the plaza. The argument, as it stands, is based on questionable assumption and a faulty line of reasoning, a fact which renders it over-simplistic and unconvincing.

First, the author of the argument falsely concludes that the increase rate of skateboard users is the cause of the decrease in the number shoppers. To elucidate on, the author assumes that there is no other factor concerning the decrease in the number of shoppers. Therefore, we can no accept the only cause. What if the economics has changed in the past two years and the people are less willing to buy products because of their pecuniary condition? What if the quality of products, sold in the plaza, are diminishing and the price is still the same? Furthermore, we may even think about the condition where people choose to shop elsewhere, due to the inflated prices in the Plaza. Not only is it acceptable to think so, but is it mandatory to come up with other solutions and factors, unstated by the author. Hence, the author draws a nebulous assumption based on little evidence. In other words, the author should have elucidated major points, mentioned above.

Second, the arguer makes a very bold assumption about the dramatic increase in litter and vandalism. To scrutinize further, the author fails to provide justification for the mentioned issue. Therefore, too many other aspects are unstated in the argument. To begin with, the security crew of the Plaza might have changed and the people of the crew are not working properly. What if the whole crime rate had had went up in the last two years? What if the vandalism and the litter are rooted in the same people’s monetary welfare? More than that, we could even think about the political situation in the region which can uphold such a behavior. As a result, enumerated evidence, as mentioned, would dispel any ambiguity and strengthen the argument.

Finally, the author makes use of vague terms to justify his/her position. To elaborate on, the author mentioned terms such as “decrease in the number of shoppers” or “dramatic increase”. Simply put, these terms and phrases need scrutiny. We do not know the extent to which the number of shoppers decreased. The decrease could be defined even as one thousand percent decrease. Thus, the author needs more justification to support his/her argument. If the terms and phrases above had been defined in detail, it would have been more logical to accept such a statement.

To conclude, based on substantial assumption and poor evidence, the arguer’s reasoning does not provide concrete support for his/her conclusion. If the argument had concluded the ideas discussed, it would have been more thorough and convincing.