The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this paragraph, the Central Plaza store owner claims that an increase in popularity of skateboarding has repelled shoppers thus leading to a decline in business. The author thus recommends the interdiction of skateboarding as a solution to the plummeting business.

While skateboarding could be a potential cause for this issue, there are other factors that should also be considered. For instance, in his argument, the author mentions a drastic increase in littering and vandalism, implying that this is due to the increased popularity of skateboarding. However, there is no evidence to support that there is a relationship between skateboarding and the rundown state of the plaza. If these two factors are indeed unrelated, prohibiting skateboarding will not reduce vandalism and littering and these elements will remain deterrents to shopping in the plaza.

Even if there is a correlation between skateboarding and the poor condition of the plaza, actions need to be taken towards removing the trash and vandalism in order to promote shopping in the plaza. As a result, it is likely that the suggestion to prohibit skateboarding will not improve business as predicted on its own.

Furthermore, it is important to note that if the skateboarders are the sources of vandalism and littering in the plaza, prohibiting skateboarding might not necessarily prevent them from these actions. It could actually lead to an increase in vandalism and littering if the skateboarders decide to protest against the interdiction of skateboarding through these means. Thus the author's suggestion could have the opposite effect if measures aren't taken to ensure that there are suitable locations available for skateboarding.

There are also other possible explanations that need to be considered. For example, it is probable that the opening of a new shopping center with more varied options is the reason for the drop in business at the plaza. The shoppers need to look into other possible explanations and eliminate them before coming to a conclusion about the source of the decrease in business.

As can be seen, in order for the author's recommendation to have the predicted result, several questions need to be investigated. Is the increase in littering and vandalism truly the reason for the drop in business? Is there a correlation between the skateboarders and vandalism in the plaza? Will prohibiting skateboarding actually increase vandalism as a way of rebelling against the interdiction? The author of this argument has made assumptions about the answers to these questions without looking for evidence to support them. As a result, it is likely that his predictions may not occur.