Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

All parents hope for their children's health and success in life. Education can contribute significantly to a student's success. However, educational institutions are not qualified to dissuade students from pursuing fields that they deem ill-suited for a student.

Success is a subjective term and could have a range of meanings at different times and for different people. While one person might consider a successful job to be one that helps them earn money to support a family and have a prosperous life, another person might think of a successful occupation as one that best matches their qualifications and interests. A teacher's definition of success might not align with a student's ideals. As a result, a student is the person who is most capable of identifying the career and education path that best suits him/her.

Even if there was one unified definition of success, the dynamic nature of human potential makes in virtually impossible for educational institutions to be able to correctly predict a student's path to prosperity. As an example, as a child, Albert Einstein was not able to speak until four years old and read until he was seven years old. He was described by one of his teachers as "mentally slow and unsociable" and was later on expelled from high school. However, he finally turned into a well known scientist and came up with revolutionary theories such as special relativity and photoelectric effect for which he won a noble prize. Despite the education system's beliefs, Einstein had great potential in science and despite his slower learning pace as a child, he was able to quickly excel in physics. Einstein's and many other well known scientists' and celebrities' stories of success are great examples of the unpredictability of human potentials.

One might argue, however, that students such as Einstein and Edison with such unique talents are scarce and there are more students who are not successful because they have not been guided properly by educational students. One might say that if a student truly has the potential to succeed in a field, they would be able to do so even if they are discouraged by their school just like Einstein and other scientists were able to do. While this may be true for some students, research has shown that there is in fact a correlation between expectation and encouragement and the development of human potentials. In a study by Robert Rosenthal, for instance, students were selected randomly and put in two different classes. One class was told that they had a higher IQ and were constantly encouraged and challenged by the teacher, while the other class was labelled as average and not motivated as much. By the end of the study it was found that the class that was labelled superior to the other group of students, was able to perform better. Such studies suggest that allowing schools to dictate what success means for each student, could actually limit students' potentials.

Furthermore, even if a successful field was considered to be one that would lead to well-paying jobs, the volatile state of the job market and the rapidly changing economy would prevent educational institutions from correctly predicting which jobs would be more suitable. A job with a good salary fifty years ago might not pay as well in the future and many well-paying jobs now-a-days did not even exist a few decades ago. For instance, about 15 years ago job titles such as data scientist and mobile app developer were non-existent. Yet, today, these occupations are very profitable with the average salary of a data scientist being about 100,000 dollars annually. Thus, even if the definition of success was purely monetary, schools should still not be able to dissuade students from pursuing a field of study.

As can be seen, while education plays an important role in students' success, it should not dissuade them from pursuing certain fields because students' potentials and interests develop at different paces and are constantly changing. Dictating what students should study could actually limit these potentials. Schools should instead focus on providing students with exposure with various opportunities so that they can choose their own path to success.