The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this paragraph, the author argues that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty because of the agency's higher revenue, greater number of real estate agents, and faster service. While at first glance these all sound like reasonable supporting statements, many of these arguments are fallacious and based on invalid assumptions that should be verified.

First, the author mentions that Adams agency has 40 real estate agents compared to the 25 at Fitch Realty. While greater number of employees could enhance the performance of the agency, this alone isn't a strong enough argument. It is possible that the employees at Fitch Realty are better qualified thus reducing the need for more employees.

Afterwards, the author uses the company's revenue to support his statement that Adams Realty is superior. It is stated that the revenue at Adams Agency is twice that of Fitch Realty and that the home sales average at 168,000 dollars compared to the 144,000 dollars for Fitch Realty. However, this difference in revenue doesn't necessarily mean that Fitch Realty is inferior. The discrepancy could be because Fitch Realty specializes in selling smaller houses and apartments which leads to a lower sale average. Also as mentioned earlier in the paragraph, Fitch Realty has fewer agents. This could also contribute to the lower revenue. It would be more cogent to compare the sales average per square feet rather than per house in order to get a better comparison of the two companies.

Lastly, the author claims that homes sold with Adams sell faster and uses a personal example to support this statement. He mentions that he was able to sell a home listed with Adams four times faster than with Fitch. However, this comparison is invalid and this discrepancy could have been caused by other sources such as: one of the houses being in a better condition or in a more desirable neighbourhood. However, the most probable reason for this discrepancy is the fact the house sold by Fitch was sold ten years ago whereas the Adams sold the house one year ago. By making such a comparison, the author is assuming that Fitch Agency has not improved and market and housing demand hasn't changed over nine years.

As can be seen, the author's conclusion that Adams Agency is better than Fitch Agency is not sound because it makes invalid comparisons between the two companies and makes unjustified suppositions such as assuming that the two agencies have not changed or improved over time.