The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states a recommendation that suggests addition on a bicycle lane to combat increased traffic on Blue Highway. It bases the recommendation on two primary reasons that the residents in nearby area are keen bicyclists and addition of extra lane in Green Highway case did not reduce the traffic. As it can be seen the reasons on which the recommendation in based are contained with loopholes and inklings which need further evidence to stand firmly.

The Major leap that the argument takes is it bases its stand on the assumption that adding a new lane would not be substantial as it had failed in Green Highway instance. Green Highway is a different road which may be having disparate road conditions, difference in number of commuters plying daily, quality of roads and types of vehicles might differ substantially. There might be huge percent of commuters traveling by private vehicles. Also, after addition of the extra lane, the number of vehicles might have increased tremendously which might have resulted in no significant decrease in traffic. For the assumption to be veritable, we need strong evidences which suggests that the Blue Highway and the Green highway are similar in all aspects and also there was no increase in past year in number of commuters on Green Highway.

Addressing the second reason, the keen bicyclists in nearby area might not choose to travel by bicycles as they may be going for work or other important things in which they would not want to flag or sweat till they reach the destination. Also, in addition, there will be commuters who belong to upper age range and for whom, traveling by bicycles will be a taxing task. Thus, adding new bicycle lane would not decrease the traffic of other vehicles while it might even take more space of the Highway, thus increasing the traffic.

Finally, considering the complaints of increased traffic increasing the commuting time by double seem superficial if the commuting time is not a large number, doubling it would not necessarily mean increased substantial commuting time. Also the anonymity of the letter raises few alarms which questions the authenticity of the argument provided. For the argument to hold value, evidence proving its contention should be provided as well as the statistical data verifying the claims in the argument.

Thus, considering the points which point out the inklings that suggest strong evidence is required, holds the argument not substantial.