"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that a channel which had increased its time of late time news for national news and reduced the time for local and weather news, over the past year, received complaints from viewers who were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news. Also, the local businesses which used to advertise during late-night news have had canceled their advertising with them. Therefore, to redress this, the station has recommended restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. As can be seen, the recommendation proves to be futile for avoiding to lose further advertising revenues.

Firstly, we need to know what type of complaints were received during the time period, and what issues were the complaints about. The complaint might be about the content of the local news or the low accuracy of weather reports presented by the station. If so, increasing the time allotted for local news and weather reports would not resolve the complaints received.

Addressing the second reason stated, the local business which used to advertise during the late-night show, might have canceled due to other reasons. They might have canceled to lower their expenses related to advertising or these businesses have been shut down during the time period. Thus, the accurate reason for canceling advertisement contracts with the station should be provided. Hence, the recommendation of increasing the time allotted to local news and weather would not for sure stop the cancellation of advertisement contracts, as their underlying reasons for doing so might be entirely different and not related.

The recommendation can be assured to fulfill what it wants if strong pieces of evidence are provided. Evidence which states explicitly that the complaints received are in relation to less time allotted for local news and weather reports. Also, an investigation should be done to extract the reasons for cancelation of advertisement contracts. This reasons should be concerned with the lowering of time allotted.

Hence, in conclusion, the argument stands weak, as it fails to provide the required shreds of evidence which will strongly support the recommendation stated in the argument.