An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

International development organization, in order to combat deficiency of vitamin A, has put forth a recommendation of replacing the millet which is a staple in the people of Tagus, with a new breed of millet which it has engineered. For promoting this recommendation, the organization, has offered to pay subsidies to farmers who harvest this new breed for compensating the high price of seeds of this new breed of millet. As it can be derived, the recommendation by the organization stands weak as it is based on shaky reasons and has no strong support.

First, the new breed which has been engineered by the international development organization, has it passed all the safety tests. Also, even if it allegedly has high amounts of vitamin A, does it contains good amounts of other essential nutrients which a currently old millet would have. Furthermore, as it claims the new breed has high levels of vitamin A, will it effectively resolve deficiency problems in the people. And, also considering the possibility, that the high levels are not dangerous for the people. If on the intake of this millet, there will be a stark increase in levels of vitamin A, it can cause side effects related to toxicity due to extra amounts of vitamin A.

Secondly, the organization has asked the farmers to cultivate the seeds of this breed in exchange of subsidies for compensating the high price of the seeds. Are these subsidies enough compensation for extra charges which the farmers will have to bear. Also, will the farmers unfeignedly harness only the new breed of millet? They might also try to mix old and new seeds to falsely garner some extra profits.

Lastly, considering the adoption of the new millet by people of Tagus, there might probably arise situations of people shunning the new variety of millet as they might not develop a liking for it. This might be due to people being familiarized with the taste of old millet. We should also consider the costs of new millets. If there were to be high, most people will not adopt the variety.

In conclusion, due to the lack of some steps, the argument stands weak. There should be more steps taken to ensure that the new breed is safe and it is properly harvested till being adopted by people.