The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As per given argument, rush hour traffic increased on blue highway which doubled commuters time. The propsed solution is to add an aditional bicycle lane to the highway. The argument is based on nuumrous assumptions such as commuters will use bicycles in rush hours, increased traffic is only due to incresed number of commuters, not due to bad condition of highway, and incresed traffic is every problem and it needs some permanent solution.

The main evidence which we need to determine the success of the proposed solution to add bike lane is that, people who are using blue highway will be willing to use bicycle to commute during rush hours or not. May be people like ride bicyle by exercise or fun purpose, but not to commute. There is a possiblity that distance which people drive on blue highway is more and can not be commutable by bicycle. In this case, adding bike lane may not solve commuters problem.

Author surmised that increased traffic is everyday problem and it needs permanent solutions. It is possible that the city is hosting some event for few days, and people are travelling to city to attend it, which is doubling commuters time. In this case, traffic will be normal after that event is over, and there is no need to build extra bike lane on highway.

Author compared Bule and green highways, without explaining how both highways are similar to each other, and are the commutors of blue highway are having same problem as green highway commuters have. It is possible that on green highway lanes are not in good condition and all the commuters prefer to use new lane, which is causing traffic jam. Therefore, without answering these questions, author can't conclude is adding extra lane didn't work for green highway and will not work for blue highway.

Thus, as per above discussion, more evidences on blue highway conditions, cause of traffic increase and commutors interest in riding bicycles need to be considered before reaching on any conclusion.