"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Argument outlines that It is recommended to Monarch Books to open a Cafe` in the store. Monarch is at same location form more than twenty years, and have large customer base due to wide selection of books on all subjects. Cafe can use part of children’s book section as population of children under age ten will decline significantly. By opening cafe Monarch can better compete with Regal books. This argument depends on many assumptions, which will weaken the argument if proved false.

It assumes that Monarch books has large customer base because of being in the same location more than twenty years and known for wide selection of books on all subjects. Another assumption is that if there will be significant decrease in children population under ten as per recent national census, then there will decrease in number of readers of age under ten. It also assumes the just merely by opening cafe Monarch can compete with Regal books.

First assumption is that Monarch books has good customer case. There is no data presented in the argument to prove it. Many questions are unanswered such as how many customers visit per day to Monarch, is the books store is having good verity of customers everyday?, are customers visiting to the book store are regular customers which are visiting most often?, how many new customers are come in a certain number of days or months and how many of those stick for longer time? Details need to be accumulated to answer these questions. Author need to scrutinize this information before reaching to the conclusion that Monarch books has good customer base.

Next hypothesis based on the statement national census report indicated a significant decline in the percentage of population under age ten. Author surmised from this statement is that if there is decrease in kids population under then then number kids customer under ten will curtail in Monarch also, and author proposed to reduce the children’s book section and utilize this space for cafe. Census report didn’t furnish discrete information about in which region children’s population lessened. Is Monarch books exist in that region? Even if there is decline in kids populace, did Monarch undergo any reduction in number of children customers. Information is missing about what is age group of consumers who use children’s book section. There might be a chance that children’s zone is also used by customers who are above the age of ten. Only if there is downturn in children’s population also caused notable decline in children customers in Monarch also then this assumption can be considered in the buttress of argument, otherwise additional information required to ratify this assumption bonafide.

Here is another assumption, by constructing cafe monarch can ameliorate compete with Regal books. The argument is wanting information about Regal books. How Monarch and Regal books can be juxtaposed. Are they in the same region? Do they have comparable customer base? Are they selling same books? To compare both books stores, both need have very similar matter to provide to customer, similar locations and similar age groups of customer. As the argument don’t provide this information, endorsing opening cafe doesn’t seem much cogent.

As this reasoning is based on speculations which don’t have firm base to be true. Author require to do more research and collate more data. Just based on assumptions it can’t be proposed that Monarch can construct cafe in the store. There might be chance that most of the monarch customers love to read books rather and they may have majority of customers kids which Regal books doesn’t have.