the following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper. "Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time." *Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

The passage is aversing the statement that the recent downsizing in Elthyria leads to the unemployment of competent workers for a long period. The reasoning provided in the passage sounds cogent yet requires some evidence to support the claim.

Firstly, it is stated that corporate downsizing leads to unemployment until competent workers find "suitable" jobs. The author's claim that the more jobs have been created than have been eliminated does not provide any details of the field in which more jobs have been created and what is the field in which more jobs have been eliminated. For example, if the jobs created are majorly in the field of managerial work or the research work, and the jobs eliminated are in the field of industrial labor work. Then a comparison is not proper, industrial workers can not possess the job of managers or research scientists so that will lead to more unemployment and it weakens the author's claim. Also, the author's reasoning that two-thirds of these newly created jobs provide above-average wages leads to the same conclusion.

Moreover, the author's claim of above-average wages leads to the next question, that what are the standards of these jobs. how many jobs which are newly created, employed the workers. Another claim of the author that the vast majority of these newly created jobs are full-time does not provide any significance reasoning. It does not provide any evidence that it leads to the employment of the workers or it helps to diminish the unemployment of the Elthyria.

In sum, more evidence is needed to support the author's claim that the employment rate in Elthyria is not affected by corporate downsizing. It would have been helpful if the evidence ere provided for the fields in which the new jobs have been created and the field in which workers lost their jobs and how many of them got the new jobs since 1999.