The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The policy for retention of professors can not be based upon a single point, there are multiple ways for retention of professors. The given stud doesn't mention other points. From my point of view, this study is incomplete and not based on thorough investigation.

The primary criteria of student to get in to university is the acceptance given by university to student. If you are offering free tuition to children of professors but they are failing to get acceptance by the university, this will not fulfill the purpose of professor retention. The university has to give preference to children of professor to get admission in the university and then offering free tuition,only giving a free tuition will not solve a problem.

Result obtained from study conducted in different university can not be applicable to other university. The ranking of oceania university might be higher or it is well known and reputed university where every parents want to sent their children.So, the professor in oceania university might want to get their children into same university. On the other hand, Seatown university may br not well known and low ranked university, the professor of this university will not be interested in getting admitted in same university. The faculty committee should look into this matter as well.

The policy for retention of professor can not be depend on single issue, there might be different issues like salary, university environment, working hours, research facilities available in university.