The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage states that the faculty committee of a University wants to adopt a policy based on a study which believes in providing free education to the children of the professors studying in that university in order to lure more new professors and enhance their morale.

The claim that the professor's own children should receive free education seems reasonable. The professor will teach all his students with even more interest especially if his own child is in the same classroom. This way, not only the professor's child will benefit but also the other students in the classroom. So such a measure could have multiple positive effects to the university. Also, in terms of finance, it's not like it would be a major loss to the university by providing financial support to just one student.

In gainsay, providing free education to each and every professor's children could be misconstrued as partiality among other students. This could affect the University's reputation. Although extremely unlikely, it could negatively affect the number of students joining the campus.

Also, according to this study, more professors have joined the campus based on the assumption that they are joining because their children are getting free education. It is possible that more professor's are joining that university because the salary for the job of a professor was greatly increased in that university. In this case, it would be better to increase the salary of the professors to get better results.

However, if the study is accurate, then providing free education to the children of the professors seems reasonable and feasible.

Hence, since the advantages of taking such a step outweigh the disadvantages, providing free education to the children of the professors in order to boost their morale and lure more professors seems practical and is likely to provide with good results.