The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter to the president of seatown university states emphasized the point that complimentary college-level education services to the professors perhaps increase the faculty retention and encourage those with children. The evidences for his stance such as the statistics of relationships between the periods of working professors for the extend of free tuition. I partially disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I firstly additionally support the committee's assertion briefly and describe the details of why I do not agree with the efficiency of attracting faculty with the free tuition fee.

Admittedly, the free tuition fee will be the attractive keys for the faculty with various reasons. The salary for the professors are not substantially high, so the money might be significant factors to make a decision about the university of their children. even though other factors such as publicity, quality of education, location will take large portion of determination, the degree of the predilection varies on the wide ranges, thus some faculty might prefer to choose seatown university if the tuition fee will be eventually decreased rather than current fee.

The major problems he excessively assumes is the priority of university for the students are quiet ordered even with the parameters of tuition and the locations. Almost people in the world, especially asian, want to go to the one of the prestiges university such as mit, Harvard, Stanford if they are given a chance although the tuition fee entering those school requires plenty of money compared to other asian university. I graduated from kaist, one of the top university in the south korea with free-tuition fee. However, the survey represented that more than half number of students in the top-3 university in Korea(SNU, kaist, POSTECH) are willing to give up their cummulated years if they entered to 'mit'. When I was an exchange student in hong-kong and U.K, I have also seen the statics showing similar results. Therefore, the decreasing or converging the tuition fee to zeros do not guarantee the increment of priority of seatown university.

In addition, the author failed to present the demographic issue and reliability of his main source: higher number of faculty might thought interesting to the free-tuition fee. Where comes from the source? The methods of determination process and the number and description s of uniformly distributed participants are not clearly specified too. The survey of official instituition and the reliable orientation of it should be determined.

Lastly, There might be some professor who do not want their children to go to the college because of effectiveness of the time. The general college program requires to spend 3-5 years, but someone might recommend their children to earn money directly or finding another jobs which does not need college-graduation. other might have followed the desires of children itself not suppressing them who do not want to get into the college. we cannot determine which one is better choice and for those who decided not to get into the college, this argument might sounds useless for them.

In conclusion, we have discussed the advantages and disadvantages of the suggestion from the faculty committee to the president of seatown university. although it sound reasonable for author's conclusion, the argument will be fruitful if the author take amount of more supports for his position.