The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Here we read an advice from a homeowner who is more experienced in the house selling issues to a friend who is planning to go to sell his home. As we understand there are two real estate firms in their town-Adams Realty and Fitch Realty-, and a homeowner compares these two firms regarding to their suitability for his friend’s budget. However ,his argument is not logical from the following aspects:

First of all, when we compare two firms that are doing same work, these two things should be comparable at first. It seems that homeowner makes a comparison from different perspectives but there is something missing that homeowner doesn’t take into an account the time dimension when he makes this comparison. If there is any time dimension in a comparison between two things, these two things are no longer comparable. Ten year ago and last year are very different from each other. So we cannot conclude that Adams Realty is quicker than Fitch Realty.

Secondly, homeowner presumes that if Adams Realty has a higher revenue, then selling a house via this realty makes you better. However, we don’t know the features of the houses and location of the houses that these two realties sold. If the houses that are sold with Adams realty are generally at the seaside or they have more comfortable characteristics, it is natural that their prices are higher. Maybe these seaside houses’ values are tree times higher than the houses that Fitch Realty sold but homeowner sees just the final averaged revenue and makes his advice in favour of the Adams Realty. So, it is not logical to reach such conclusion directly.

Finally, it is true that Fitch Realty’s revenue is half of the Adams Realty but there are 25 part-time agents in there compared to 40 full-time agents in the Adams Realty. Actually when we keep everything else constant but the total number of agents that are working in these firms, we should have had more than three times revenue in Adams Realty but we just have 2 times higher revenue. This is actually a supporting argument in favour of Fitch Realty, but homeowner’s approach is missing in that regard.

All in all, to be able to make a comparison between two things we should be sure that these two things are comparable by considering time,size and location dimension at first and we should read the mathematical data more carefully. Sometimes data can be misleading if you don’t have an expert glasses to read it correctly.