The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter from a homeowner to a friend states that Adams Reality is better than Fitch reality and in order to sell a house quickly with a good price, his friend should choose Adams Reality.Homeowner have come to this conclusion on the basis of the revenue , sales comparison between both entities and their efficiency to sell a house. Homeowner offers a reasonable argument, but to move forward on the recommendation would require more information and insights about the mentioned Real estate agencies.

First of all, Homeowner provided details of revenue and sales statistics for Adams and Fitch reality is for last year.Perhaps, it is possible that currently due to competition between real estate agencies has made Fitch reality work on their numbers and now it is leading on top in the market with their incredible sales and significant revenue which is greater than Adams reality. To strengthen homeowner's argument, one of the factors could be aggregated revenue and sales data for at least 5 years from present which will offer a coherent conclusion about the company leading at top.

Secondly, Homeowner compared Fitch reality's efficiency to sell a house with Adam's in different time scenarios(almost a decade difference) which cannot be compared.It is a possibility that ten years ago, Fitch reality was an inchoate agency where Adams were already flourished.Perhaps, another possibility that Adams was non-existent ten years ago and has recently got established. If any of the above scenarios has merit, then the Homeowner's argument proves to be significantly weak.

Lastly, Homeowner listed his house to Adams last year and got his house sold in one month with a good price. Perhaps, it may be possible that Fitch was offering considerably good price of the home along with faster rate for home-selling.Since, homeowner considered Fitch reality to be inferior and did not approach them at all.If above is true, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, a systematic and coherent research should be done about the companies to be compared before surmising to rate any agency. Otherwise, it will result into loss of the good property in lower price with extra number of days.