Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Malcolm Forbes quoted "Education's purpose is to replace an empty mind with an open mind".One should have an open mind in order to embark his journey of success.In this statement, author suggests that the established formal system of education that relies upon learning strategies and objectives tend to become tedious and set a stringent mind. I strongly agree with the statement and argue that a restrained mind tends to stymie one's progress in life for two reasons.

To begin, Formal education in any organisation has prevailing learning strategies which is going on for years with little or no change in their objectives. As much as the technology and science has advanced in past few years, Conventional education system did not, which in turn, still teaches us the same methodology, that may be obsolete now. For an instance, to design a plan of 2BHK apartment, there are various softwares available in market such as Autocad, etc. which provides more feasible and accurate methods of designing and many real estate organisations are using these softwares to deliver their work. However, Instead of making students proficient in these up to date softwares, Engineering colleges are still following the conventional method of drawing a plan of an apartment over a sheet. Students who have been drawing these on these sheets for years are now become hesitant towards the new teachnology.Therefore, If students were allowed to have an oppurtinity to explore and design theses plans , many would have come up with different ideas to accomplish the task given which in turn had open their minds to various new interests.

Further, An open mind has the ability to absorb the positive energy from an environment and turn it into something creative. With our minds and spirits fettered , we would get troubled by any changes around us. Since childhood, we were all the part of education in different organisations that instruct us in the same way and restrict our minds to diverge from one path that we have been taking for long time.This certainly hinders our ability to think something new, creative and innovative in every aspects , with cut throat competition every one is challenging the other with a new idea and not able to up stand can end all us up in a labyrinth situation.

To conclude, We must have free minds and spirits in order to succeed.