The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this recommendation, the developer suggests to his/her company that they should specialize in the delivery of heating oil. To support his conlusion, he points out that the consistency of the exteme coldness and the increasing tendence of population will welcome the increasing demand of heating oil during the next five years. Moreover, the developers use a series evidence to demonstrate that there is a urgent need of using oil to keep warm. In addition, a weather forecaste is cited to prove that there will definitely be an below-normal weather in the future. Although the recommendation of specializing in the delivery of heating oil may finally turn out to be lucrative, close scrunity reveals that the conclusion lacks critical support and therefore we need more evidence to help evaluate this argument.

First of all, we need evidenceto verify that whether nowsdays that people in northeresatern United States still utilizes oil for heating instead of others. While the author shows that residents here have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating ,no evidence serves to rule thepossibility that they still use it given that the gas enery as well as the other recycling energy is more environmentally friendly and cheaper. Thus, if no evidence shows that the residents here continues using oil for heating, then it is safe to claim that the company should specializing delivery of heating oil due to earning more profit, and the developer's argument is strengthened. However, if new evidence disclose an opposite situation, which is , the citizens are turning into using other clean energy, then the proposed in the argument is greatly weakened.

In addition, we need more evidence to ascertain whether the climate in the northeastern UNited States will experience an increasing coldness in the nest five years.First , it may well premise that it is true beacause the climate forecaste provided is pretty convincing. However, specific evidence should provided to re-examine whether the weather report is suitable and valid. If new evidence shows that the weather forecast was dominted by the local climated bureau with detailed information analyzing, then the efficiency of the research is strenthened. However, if new evidence reveals that the current climate forecast is no other than a weather report for only a few days or doesn not concerns about the local conditions, then the prediction that there will be coming a extremely cold weather is in great doubt and the developer's conclusion is thereby rendered unconvincing,

Finally, despite the presence of all the previous evidence, an accurate evaluation of the develper;s request requires additional details. Specific evidence is needed to show whether there is a increasing number of people and whether the result of increasing population will be applied to the ballooning need of heating oil. If the answer is positive, ten the reasoning of the argument is strenthened; however, if buiding homes is for another usages or the new residents give priority to other fuel for heating, we are reluctant to believe that there will experience an increased demand for heating oil and the developer's reconmmendation.

To sum up, the evidence cited by the developer does not provide enough conclusive information to make their request convincing. As a result, we need addtional evidence to better evaluate the recommendation.