The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College made some assumptions and concluded that the student housing needs more dormitories. According to the director the Buckingham's enrollment is growing and it will be double over the next 50 years. He also concluded that the average rent for an apartment in the town also has risen and the attractive dormitories will definitely allure the students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. Although his assertion sounds plausible at first glance, careful consideration reveals that it is based on groundless assumptions derived from poor information.

Firstly, the enrollment is growing based on current trends is acceptable that the number of students enrolled current year is more than previous but the assumption that the enrollments will double over next 50 years is illogical. Any assumption can be made for next two or three years on the basis of present data not up to 50 years. The economy will not be constant for 50 years as well as the other factors such as market conditions, viability of resources, and fortune also cannot be considered same for 50 years. Therefore, the 50 years plan is hard to validate.

Secondly, director made a direct relation between number of enrollments in Buckingham College and the space in dormitories. This relation is also not reasonable. All the enrolled students take admission is not possible and the space in dormitories fills with students who take admission. The college’s open enrollments for the students who are interested in the available courses but all of them might not be selected for admission. The director has to understand the reasoning behind the assumption than conclude the final point.

Thirdly, It is clearly mentioned in the memo that the attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham college which is based on illogical assumption. The prospective students firstly consider the available courses and the faculty present in the college after than they look at luxuries. For students at college level the knowledge is more important than the other aspects of the college. The degree and knowledge will be helpful to pursue a good job rather than the comfort of the dormitories experienced during college life.

Finally, on the basis of aforementioned points the director assumed less practical assumptions to build new dormitory area in the college. The college administration has not to be accepted the suggestion without analyse it. The dormitories are not only way to attract the students for admission.